Book reviews

Review: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynndownload

Genre: Mystery

Pages: 422

summary:

Who are you?

What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

 

Holy bagels and cream cheese I just finished this book and I cannot even.

First of all, sorry for the long absence, just busy with life. second of all, I hit 100 likes on this blog. I know it doesn’t seem like a lot but yayyy partay

Back to Gone Girl. Reading the blurb and the initial chapters of the book I thought this would be the typical, psycho husband kills wife, but let me tell you I was so wrong. This book defies all cliches and it is literally the definition of a thriller and brain-messer.

Flnnn has managed to create these characters with so much depth and reality. I feel like writing about messed up people and relationships is way more complicated than writing about the euphoric characters and Flynn has mastered the skill of creating the most messiest, psychotic characters out there.

The story is told from the two perspectives of husband and wife Nick and Amy because “there are two sides to every story”.  Both of these characters have such distinct voices which is crucial when reading from more than one perspective, I feel like even without the chapter titles identifying the pov I would’ve been able to distinguish between the two because they are such different personalities.

The plot is.AMAZING. I literally realized the actual meaning of engrossed in a book while reading Gone Girl. It’s like nothing else mattered except finding out what happened to Amy. I was so engrossed it was unbearable to put this book down.  With its numerous twists Gone Girl is an ultimately unpredictable page turner that will have you going WTF throughout the whole book.  Each twists will change your perspective and emotions, its scary how the author can manipulate your feelings like that. The story is so realistic I felt like i was reading a memoir, I mean I’m still struggling with the fact that this is a work of fiction.

I would like to read Gone Girl again to see if I can pick up any clues or foreshadowing but I highly doubt it, this book was just structured well that way. Highly interested to see how this book will be executed into a movie which is coming out soon! ahh!.

You reading this right now. Go pick up Gone Girl and read it so it can suck your soul and leave you with: I dunno what to do with my life anymore.

Rating

5

3 thoughts on “Review: Gone Girl”

Leave a comment