Book reviews

Sound Reasoning As To Why YOU Need To Read Soundless

Hail the queen of puns. I know, I’m so funny (not). But I promise in this post to provide reasons that will hopefully incline you to read Richelle Mead’s brand new release and no it doesn’t involve vampires (unfortunately)

Only about 250 pages long Soundless is reminiscent of exotic tales I recall reading in my childhood. It’s simplistic which captures the essence and values of the people n the book I guess. One downside to being short is of course there wasn’t as much elaboration as I’m used to and I honestly thought this would be a series. But if you’re up for a quick and refreshing read Soundless is it.

Of course every YA novel is incomplete without love. Similarly Soundless had a cliche childhood romance type of situation but I believe as there wasn’t any space to build on a relationship, for convenience purposes Fei and Lei Wei were already in love with each other long before the novel began. Which I’m not complaining about as it was consistent with the traditional and cultural vibe the novel was giving.

I have a grudging respect for Fei because of how much she loves and protects her sister. Yeah it was a little frustrating but Fei’s bravery derives from her need to protect her sister and that is admirable.

The book has realistic struggles whether they be physical, mental or political. Richelle Mead does a good job of exploring the physical and mental struggles which makes the book realistic. However, the political conflict between Fei’s town and the Kingdom is resolved in haste through sudden introduction of these mythical creatures.

I think the forte of Soundless was the amount of diversity it captured. There was obviously the fact that all the villagers were deaf and sign language was used extensively throughout the novel. I was expecting a sort of muteness, a silence to be captured in the novel that would come from being deaf and I realize that’s a difficult task but hey, one can hope. The novel definitely did make me realize how much we take sound for granted though.

Soundless also explores another culture which YA novels don’t seem to be doing enough of in my opinion. It was a refreshing change to read about a world set in an Asian society rather than the typical Dystopian US.

So were my reasons Sound enough to convince you to grab this book?

Book Info:

Title: Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead

Genre: YA Fantasy

Source: Publisher

Goodreads      Buy Now 

Synopsis:For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village. Her people are at the mercy of a mysterious faraway kingdom, which delivers food in return for precious metals mined from the treacherous cliffs surrounding them.
When villagers begin to lose their sight, their rations shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the boy she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.
Then Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon . . .
Perfect for readers of THE HUNGER GAMES, this epic fantasy from the international bestselling author of VAMPIRE ACADEMY will have you instantly hooked and on the edge of your seat.

 

Book reviews

Book Review | The Ruby Circle (disappointments!)

Title: The Ruby Circle

Author: Richelle Mead

Series: Bloodlines #6

Genre: Young Adult- Paranormal

Page count: 348

Synopsis 

The epic conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series is finally here…

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

After their secret romance is exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world.

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

I thought I would whiz through this book the night of the release. I thought I would have to tell myself to slow down because I would need to savour every little detail before it all ends forever but I was wrong.  The whizzing was more like a turtle’s half-hearted crawl, and the savoring? let’s just get stuck in this review.

Plot

Alright when I think Bloodlines plot I think action that has me sweating. Romance that has me breathless. What I got instead was more like a family drama saga, honestly I felt like I was reading one of those romance drama books I’ve always despised. All the major plot points unfolded perfectly, the characters were at the right place on the right time and that’s the thing it was SO predictable. I was always somehow reassured throughout the whole story that everything was going to be okay and I’m not buying that. I’m all about the adrenaline and the unexpected.

Writing

My involvement in the book itself slowly deteriorated because there just didn’t seem to be any life in the words, any fire. I feel so bad admitting this because I love Richelle but I would skim some parts because I just couldn’t bring myself to stick my nose in the book.  Even the dialogue seemed monotonous and at some parts I couldn’t distinguish whether the chapters were from Sydney’s PoV or Adrian’s. Their voices were just too similar.  But I must say, thanks to my friends motivation I did become highly anticipatory towards the end because I was promised a bombshell but as I said before, too predictable.

Characters

I must admit it was great seeing almost everyone from Vampire Academy and Bloodlines reunite and some new characters (wink wink nudge nudge)/ But again I felt like some nonchalant and hasty decisions were made by the characters which didn’t leave much room for growth really.

The Ruby Circle was not an ideal conclusions for Bloodlines but it wasn’t an un-ideal one either. In the end I got the happily ever after I wanted so I shouldn’t be complaining but I am.

Rating

3

signature_2

Tags

Top 5 Wednesday | Authors I’d like to meet

o-INFINITY-facebook

This week’s top five is about authors we’d like to meet which is such a hard topic to narrow down to five since I wanna meet each and every author I’ve read books from because I feel like authors are the perfect people to discuss books with since they have exclusive insight and all that good stuff.

Don’t forget if you wanna check out other people’s Top Five’s then head over to the Goodreads group!

5

Richelle Mead!

 

Books Read: The Vampire Academy and Bloodlines

Why I wanna meet them:

Richelle seems so lovely and she never forgets to mention how much she loves her international (Aussies) fans!

What I would do upon meeting them:

If I ever get the chance to go to the USA or if she ever comes to Australia I will tackle her in a bear hug (is that too violent?) No but seriously I would just have a casual chat about life and her upcoming projects, take a few hundred selfies and of course get her to sign my tower of Richelle Mead books!

4

Gayle Forman 

Books Read: If I stay, Where she went and I was Here

Why I wanna meet them:

For the past few months I have been continuously raving about Gayle Forman. Well I am kind of obsessed with all her books and all the boys in her books (wink wink). I saw her Goodreads interview the other day and she seems so down to Earth and can we just take a moment to admire her majestic hair aah!

What I would do upon meeting them:

From reading her books I feel like Gayle is really into the music scene so I would ask her about songs I should add to my playlist. It would also be cool discussing her experience with If I Stay becoming a movie and also her inspiration for the intriguing, mystery filled plot of I was Here.

3

George.R.R.Martin 

Books Read: A Song of Ice and Fire Series

Why I wanna meet them:

I read A Song of Ice and Fire series in five months straight up and I watch the show religiously so of course I wanna meet GRRM

What I would do upon meeting them:

Fangirl.

I feel like I would get intimidated because I hold him in such high regards. But I would try and get a few spoilers out of him without success, in all honesty I would just be happy discussing the characters and where the initial idea for Game of Thrones all came from.

2

Jane Austen (no one mentioned anything about the author being still alive.)

Books Read: Pride & Prejudice

Why I wanna meet them:

Because it’s freakin’ Jane Austen that’s why. Doesn’t every literary addict wanna meet this genius writer?

What I would do upon meeting them:

I would question how she came back from the dead.

After that we’d sit down for some tea and Scones and I ‘d ask her all about life in the 19th Century and being a female writer and yeah it would be an interesting conversation with me trying to decipher her language and vice versa. Oh and I’d take a selfie to make everybody and their uncle jealous.

I know Austen should’ve been number One but you’ll see….

1

John Green

Books Read: The Fault in Our Stars, An Abundance of Katherines, Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns

Why I wanna meet them:

High school for me has been all about John Green and his writing and I feel like I’ve grown up with it. Plus John is a Nerdfighter, he is THE Nerdfighter which is awesome and crazy and I feel like I’ll just be bombarded with smartness and knowledge meeting him.

What I would do upon meeting them:

I ‘d ask him to pinch me just in case it was a dream. After that I would hyperventilate.

After eventually settling down and if he is still around I would have a casual chat with him about absolutely everything and nothing. Sounds like so much FUN. Oh and I’d take selfies because let’s be honest…it’s John Green.

I hope you enjoyed reading my weird ideas about meeting my favourite authors and let me know who you’d like to meet and what you’d do upon meeting them!

signature_2