LAW SCHOOL ! A Horror Story

I don’t belong here 

Why did i ever think coming into law school was a good idea 

I’m half as tall as everyone else and twice as shy. I’m not bold or upfront or extroverted. 

These thoughts mill around my head as I travel from lecture to lecture, understanding the contents but never quite grasping where I fit into all these masses of future lawyers.

I run short of breath and feel an engulfing sense of paranoia and something resembling a panic attack as I attend court for the first time. The buildings and surroundings are inevitably foreign. But it’s the people that riffle me the most.

Intimidating, aged, men in suits and wheely suitcases glide past me, not paying any heed to the amateur human who might as well be another journalist.

I can’t even make it through my first hearing as I bolt outside the room before the judge enters and the proceedings begin.

My second hearing is not so bad. Once again I’m intimidated by the masses of suits and official language which takes me a while to get used to.

I can’t help thinking that one day, very soon, I’m going to be the one in that suit and I will most likely be up against a person who is much more experienced and much less intimidated than me.

But you know what? I’ve made it this far and I’ll make it further because I’ve always known I’d make one hell of a lawyer and it’s time to put that in motion right now.


That was my two-cents worth regarding the first two weeks of law school. I hope you guys liked the creative twist I tried!

Leave a Reply

