Reaction | The Red Woman

It’s that time of the year again. Oh yeah, the articles are streaming out, the predictions are at an all time high and I”m here to add my voice to it.

Obviously this post contains spoilers about the Season 6 Premiere of Game of Thrones so don’t read it if you don’t wanna spoil it for yourself blah blah.

The opening scene of the Season well and truly establishes that yes, Jon Snow IS dead.

We lose all hope of a recovery when even melisandre seems at a loss but the fact that the body is still there, even if it there to give rise to the anger that will finally bring down Thorne, the fact that the body is there gives me a teensy bit of hope.

Moving Norther, Podrick and Brienne killed it! I can’t wait to see what the Squad gets up to this season starting by kicking some Bolton ass.

This episode was mainly centered on setting the scene as is the case with most season premieres of Game of Thrones.

My predictions made in this post about Dany having to live her days out in Vaes Dothrak are true however, as probability has it, Ser Jorah and Daario will probably fix that pickle up. I quite enjoyed the friend-zone talk Daario and Jorah had to be honest.

I feel like Arya will learn how to fight blindly and that will be her redemption later in the season.

The Dorne Situation was probably the most stupidest thing. Prince Doran’s death did come as a surprise but then again what do you expect from those women?

I was hoping Trystane would be smart enough NOT TO TURN HIS BACK ON HIS ENEMY. Like jeez you really expect these salty bitches to have any sense of honour?

Bits and bobs of the episode aside, let’s address the elephant in the room. Melisandre’s revealing, that was the most satisfying and shocking and Game of Thrones thing about the episode. I found a great article from EW explaining the whole process and theory behind it and all I’m gonna say at this point is that, it’s kind of expected but I’m interested to see where it goes from here for her character.

While the season premiere was no Oscar-winning movie, it set the scene quite successfully for the action, drama and suspense that is to follow in the season. There are definitely better things ahead. By that I mean more people dying.

signature_2

3 thoughts on “Reaction | The Red Woman

  1. patricksponaugle says:

    Setting aside Dorne for a moment (I feel I might have to say that all season) I really liked the season six premiere, since it focused on all the cliffhangers from last year.

    Ser Davos is the man, totally not believing Ser Alliser, who isn’t going to take any chances with the guys who are holed up with Jon’s body.

    Sansa accepting Brienne’s service was so great, I loved the emotions bubbling below the surface on Brienne’s face.

    The Melisandre transformation scene was awesome. What a way to end the episode.

    I look forward to reading your recaps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

