Film Review | The Fifth Wave

Guess who basically went for one of first shows of The Fifth Wave? ME! I’ve been anticipating this film since I got wind of it. I followed the casting announcements, behind-the-scene photos and fangirled over the trailers and previews.

Which is why I’m disappointed in saying that it didn’t leave me mind-blown or even close to. The Fifth Wave turned out to be a mediocre film, it wasn’t too bad but neither was it too good.

The story stayed true to the book in ever possible way with a few details being cut out understandably. However, the structure of the story came off as a little awkward because of the writers of the film trying to capture all POVs mentioned in the book.

It did get a little draggy at times especially during certain character interactions. But, the film got the feels flowing so what am I even complaining about? not the mention, Evan Walker is a hot potato mm. There was also humour present at times which is a nice refresher.

I guess much of the book is based on Cassie’s thought-process and there is a HUGE psychological element in the book which is difficult to execute on screen. I’m glad that the personality of the characters in the book was captured near to perfection, my favourite among which being Ringer and Ben.

In terms of the ending, I’ve realised that cliff-hangers come across way better in books than they do in films. The ending felt a little abrupt and it made the film seems shorter somehow.

Rating

3

signature_2

5 thoughts on “Film Review | The Fifth Wave

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    Aw, it’s a shame you didn’t enjoy it. I haven’t seen it yet. I don’t think it’s out yet where I live.

    I figured they would probably tone the film down a bit. Rick Yancy is so good at totally filling us with horror that it seems like it would be difficult for the film to achieve the level of atmosphere that the books had. Like you said, so much of it is psychological. When you’re watching it rather than experiencing it with them it’s different.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joy @ Thoughts By J says:

    I felt the exact same way about this movie! It was really rushed and I felt like the relationship development was a little off. As you mentioned, there was a lot going on in Cassie’s head in the book, and that was not conveyed well on screen. The insta-love was very cringe worthy too. Ok movie, wish it was better tbh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

