Film Review | The Scorch Trials

As the film began with an emotional flashback showing Thomas being separated from his mother I settled in for two hours of action, adrenaline and of course eye candy.

Needless to say The Scorch Trials had all of the above but in a more milder version compared to the action present in the prequel, The Maze Runner.

I loved The Maze Runner but I’m sorry to say I didn’t LOVE The Scorch Trials, the film had its moments of glory yet it failed to leave me with the same high that The Maze Runner did.

The film had a lot of this

You know characters sitting around while the enemy closed in because what could be more important than contemplating life at such a dire situation.

And the film had a lot of this too

You know, just the walking dead popping in to say hello. I have one criticism that is, it was never explained how this disease came about, I mean everyone spends the entire film debating the cure yet no one tells the viewer where it came from or why. Are they saving it for the last installment or simply ruling it out as an evolutionary error?

In saying that though, the acting in the film was great. With such promising casting it was a bit of a given I suppose. And I cannot complain about the eye candy

I also like the fact that the film has now become somewhat independent from the books. There is still the main plot however, details that I believe needed altering have been altered which I’m happy about.

The action in the film I found to be lacking because it mostly involved the actors running away from the Cranks or the Walking Dead, at some points I even zoned out which is never a good sign.

My most favourite thing about the film would have to be the cinematography and world building. The Scorch was represented beautifully and the harshness and dangers of the landscape were captured beautifully too

Rating

4

signature_2

3 thoughts on “Film Review | The Scorch Trials

  1. iknewscotty says:

    Awesome review, Infinity Reads! I have to say the production design got me good. I don’t know what I was expecting having read the trilogy, but both films are so aesthetically engaging and truly dystopian, your world building I completely agree with. Have a Merry Christmas! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

