Mockingjay Part 2 Rant

Okay. Bit of background context here. I started reading The Hunger Games back in 2012 before the movies were even a thing.

Ever since then I have devoutly gone to the cinema every time a new film adaptation in the series was added and watched it.

I loved The Hunger Games! Catching Fire was Kickass and Mockingjay Part 1 left me feeling like a political revolutionary who could take on any tyrant coming my way

I didn’t like Mockingjay the book to begin with and I was kind of hoping the film would redeem the book somehow but NOPE. I should’ve known better, after all this, The Hunger Games Franchise is less about doing justice to the books and the powerful message it represents about oppressive societies and more about well…portraying hot people playing dress up and going to war.

And Mockingjay Part 2 was more in that line than any of the other films.

First of all, the film lacked a certain flow in its editing. I mean one moment Katniss is at some mission and next scene Finnick and Annie are getting married like seriously, couldn’t we at least have some sort of transition or set up from scene to scene?

Second of all, Katniss just wasn’t..Katniss, I mean she was whingy and broody and lacked vengeance.  I mean I wanted her to rip Snow to shreds or Coin or anybody really.

Don’t even get me started about the pathetic love triangle and how it oh so conveniently resolved itself. Although I did get emotional at certain Peeta-Katniss moments and Oh btw Liam Hemsworth’s hot so can’t complain about that

Other things that annoyed me include: The unnecessary insertion of dramatic music like we get it, this is a serious moment they’ve got guns and everything. The fact that Katniss ALWAYS survived like everything from vocal trauma to third degree burns.

I did like a few things such as those emotional moments between Katniss and Peeta, how she, in the end, did the right thing and I’ve been waiting for that very last scene with Katniss and Peeta’s kids in the meadow for quite a while now so.

Although the film had very strong casting and all the pieces in the game set up for a promising and epic end, the directors unfortunately didn’t manage to bring the story home and give viewers the proper finale for what is the end of a very huge film series in the YA adaptations genre.

signature_2

 

5 thoughts on “Mockingjay Part 2 Rant

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I haven’t seen the film, but I agree with everything that you’re saying anyway. I didn’t enjoy reading Mockingjay at all. I really wanted to, but I just couldn’t. Too much death. I was never much into Peeta anyway, but I found during that book particularly that he and Katniss’ relationship fell completely out of my reach.

    I’ve only seen the first movie. I should really watch them but I can’t quite summon up the enthusiasm. Honestly I think it was only the enthusiasm of everyone else (and a desire to read about a girl who wasn’t Bella from Twilight) that got me through the book series.

    Interesting review/rant 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. patricksponaugle says:

    I won’t defend the movie so much, since I wasn’t extremely into the 3rd book, I didn’t expect the movie to really do anything special. I just wanted to see the story come to it’s conclusion, as unsatisfying as it might be.

    My daughter was happy with it, which is always a plus for me, and my dad. (My dad was such a Hunger Games fan, it surprised me. But he’s a bowhunter from West Virginia (he’s convinced that coal-mining rustic District 9 is located near his home town) so he had a strong identification with Katniss.

    The thing that surprised me about the movie, was how some critics apparently didn’t understand why Katniss shot President Coin, instead of President Snow. I thought the movie at least made that clear enough.

    I appreciated reading your review, and I don’t disagree with anything that you’re saying. I just think that the story in the book ended up a somewhat non-traditional tale, and I weirdly respect it for that.

    Like

    • infinityreads says:

      I totally understand where you’re coming from. I mean in terms of doing justice to the books the movie did a good job. I’m glad your daughter liked and aha your dad must obviously be a huge fan of Katniss!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

