Sound Reasoning As To Why YOU Need To Read Soundless

Hail the queen of puns. I know, I’m so funny (not). But I promise in this post to provide reasons that will hopefully incline you to read Richelle Mead’s brand new release and no it doesn’t involve vampires (unfortunately)

Only about 250 pages long Soundless is reminiscent of exotic tales I recall reading in my childhood. It’s simplistic which captures the essence and values of the people n the book I guess. One downside to being short is of course there wasn’t as much elaboration as I’m used to and I honestly thought this would be a series. But if you’re up for a quick and refreshing read Soundless is it.

Of course every YA novel is incomplete without love. Similarly Soundless had a cliche childhood romance type of situation but I believe as there wasn’t any space to build on a relationship, for convenience purposes Fei and Lei Wei were already in love with each other long before the novel began. Which I’m not complaining about as it was consistent with the traditional and cultural vibe the novel was giving.

I have a grudging respect for Fei because of how much she loves and protects her sister. Yeah it was a little frustrating but Fei’s bravery derives from her need to protect her sister and that is admirable.

The book has realistic struggles whether they be physical, mental or political. Richelle Mead does a good job of exploring the physical and mental struggles which makes the book realistic. However, the political conflict between Fei’s town and the Kingdom is resolved in haste through sudden introduction of these mythical creatures.

I think the forte of Soundless was the amount of diversity it captured. There was obviously the fact that all the villagers were deaf and sign language was used extensively throughout the novel. I was expecting a sort of muteness, a silence to be captured in the novel that would come from being deaf and I realize that’s a difficult task but hey, one can hope. The novel definitely did make me realize how much we take sound for granted though.

Soundless also explores another culture which YA novels don’t seem to be doing enough of in my opinion. It was a refreshing change to read about a world set in an Asian society rather than the typical Dystopian US.

So were my reasons Sound enough to convince you to grab this book?

Book Info:

Title: Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead

Genre: YA Fantasy

Source: Publisher

Goodreads      Buy Now 

Synopsis:For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village. Her people are at the mercy of a mysterious faraway kingdom, which delivers food in return for precious metals mined from the treacherous cliffs surrounding them.
When villagers begin to lose their sight, their rations shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the boy she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.
Then Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon . . .
Perfect for readers of THE HUNGER GAMES, this epic fantasy from the international bestselling author of VAMPIRE ACADEMY will have you instantly hooked and on the edge of your seat.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s