Book Haul | Shakespeare & Conpany 

I couldn’t go to France and not visit Shakespeare & Company. It’s been a dream of mine ever since I read it in Anna and the French Kiss. No amount of time could’ve been enough for me to explore in there and take in the overwhelming mass of books literally floor to ceiling. But I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the talking

img_0631

img_0629

The doormat had quite a lot to say..

Upstairs was filled with writer’s cubby holes and I’m talking Hemmingway kinda writers



The Haul!

img_0722

Let’s take a moment to appreciate the tote bag which I’m tote-ally gonna rock every day

img_0724

img_0729

As a souvenir and also because I love Shakespeare I got Macbeth. I was trying to find a similar copy of Hamlet but no luck. The pages are gold bordered like so

img_0730

img_0731

We’d just been to Notre Dame and I wanted to learn more about it so

img_0727

I also got this cool notebook to put all my blogging ideas in. It’s got some famous writers associated with the store.

img_0728

Every book comes stamped upon request

img_0732

Some bookmarks

These were the steps leading up to the writer’s cubby hole

img_0734

I also got a post card because why not


Other books from France!

img_0735

Paris has many street bookstores selling second hand books which was like my dream come true. I soon discovered most of the books were in French and settled upon buying the French version of Lolita. I plan on buying the English version and hope to build on my French vocab. Let’s hope it’s not too dirty

img_0736

France also has amazing McDonald’s. Seriously guys, if you ever go to France, try their maccas. I, typically, bought a Happy Meal and received a French picture book. How cute is that! It’s Puss in Boots in French!

This was my experience at Shakespeare & Co. Hopefully it wasn’t my only one, I hope to return there one day and spend even more money. If you guys have any burning questions feel free to leave ’em in the comments!

signature_2

2 thoughts on “Book Haul | Shakespeare & Conpany 

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I just wrote about Lolita in my last post. That’s so funny. I read it when I was at university. I hope you enjoy it. It is probably one of the strangest books I have ever read.

    I’ve been to Shakespeare and Co. too. It is the most amazing shop! I made me friend stay in there for such a long time because I couldn’t bear to leave! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for the amazing photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

