Books I’ve Given Up On

I’m the kind of person that likes to see things through the end, well, at least when it comes to books, but there are certain books on my bookshelf that defy these rules.

The Death Cure by James Dashner

One of the first books I remember giving up on.

Reason: I had a problem with the way the series was written from the beginning, so by the time I got to the last book and realised I wasn’t going to get any satisfactory answers, I decided it really wasn’t worth reading on.

A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking

This one I haven’t so much given up on, rather I’ve set it aside. Some of the concepts are difficult to grasp but when I do have time to sit down and properly read, the books is quite fascinating

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

Reason: It’s a very difficult text to interpret and I simply do not have the time it’s demanding from me to sit down and properly read it so.

Complete Collection of Sherlock Holmes

As you can imagine, being the complete collection, there is quite a lot to read. I have read a few stories but it’s just been sitting there on my shelf collecting dust really.

Those are all the books I have given up on, I feel like it’s not a lot and I should keep it that way I guess.

Do you give up on books or do you see things through to the end?

signature_2

4 thoughts on “Books I’ve Given Up On

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I’ve never brought ‘the complete’ anything. I imagine it would make reading a very daunting task. If you ever want to get back into Sherlock I would recommend giving The Adventures a go. They are all really short stories, so it’s quick to get through. They are very fun to read.

    Giving up on a book can be such a tortured decision. I am so bad at it. I never want to feel like the time I have invested has been wasted. I made myself get all the way through Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance a while back and it was PAINFUL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lchavezdoyle says:

    I used to feel obligated to finish every book I started. Not anymore. Life is too short to spend my time on something I don’t want to do, unless I have to do it. The most recent book I gave up on was Where’d You Go Bernadette. It’s a popular book, and I heard it’s going to be made into a movie, but I didn’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

