Favourite Last Lines in Books

The way a book ends is of prime importance to me. You can be left feeling elated, like you’ve just received a fresh breath of air after diving in the pool, or you can be left feeling meh, we all have those “that’s it?” moments come on.

I’m here to discuss the last lines which have left me breathless or always bring a smile to my face whenever I flip to the end of the book.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott. Fitzgerald 

I think this sums up the book perfectly but also promises new adventures and perseverance, I don’t know this quote always gives me the feeling of ‘life goes on’.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

This is so melancholic and those who’ve read the book would know how sad the book is. But I believe the ending of the book gives so much closure

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Okay so this is really sad but you know how the whole “I do” is significant of marriage? Maybe this is like Hazel’s promise to Augustus. Nonetheless, all the sad feels come flooding back in every time.

The Book Thief  by Markus Zusak

I could go into a whole analysis of this quote but it signifies that humans are always looking for suffering to the point where even death is haunted. And it’s such a thought provoking way to end the book. I love Markus Zusak!

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfus

Okay technically, the last line would be “It was the patient, cut-flower sound of a man who is waiting to die”, which in itself is a sad and haunting last line. But here’s the deal, the author uses the above epilogue as a prologue. And it works! I’ve never seen anyone do that before and it’s so interesting.

NOTE: All pictures taken from Google images, they’re not mine!

Are there any famous last lines you can think of ?

signature_2

2 thoughts on “Favourite Last Lines in Books

Leave a Reply

