5 Iconic To Kill A Mockingbird Quotes

If you’re not a smart cookie and you haven’t figured out why I’m doing this post today then well let me enlighten you.

It’s Happy Release Day to Go Set a Watchman (To Kill A Mockingbird #2)

This book has been such a long time coming and from the moment I finished TKAM I’ve always wondered what kind of woman Scout Finch grew up to be. Well, now I can find out!

But in honour of Go Set A Watchman being released today I decided to reminisce my favourite quotes from To Kill A Mockingbird and sort of discuss what they mean to me I guess.

Quote #1

You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.

Atticus Finch is such a wise old man. I mean empathy people, I’m not very good at it either but empathy and being considerate is so important

Quote #2 

Before I can live with other folks I’ve got to live with myself. The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.

I decided to include this one because Go Set A Watchman seems to be based on the idea of living with your conscience (still trying to figure out what that exactly means)

Quote #3

 Real courage is when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.

I’ve always been a big believer in seeing things through to the end, partly the reason I ALWAYS ALWAYS finish books but that’s hardly courageous I guess

Quote #4

Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.

This is one of the most beautifullest quotes! I always feel like this is referring to the “innocent ones” especially in the context of the book and how it’s a crime to kill people who didn’t cause any harm to society in the first place.

Quote #5

 Hey Boo.

How can book readers forget this one. I feel like out of all the quotes mentioned today this is the most iconic one (at least for me). Just the pure joy you get when Scout finally finally gets to see Boo

Those are some of my favourite To Kill A Mockingbird quotes! I hope you enjoyed this tribute post and if you haven’t already go read both the books NOW!

What are some of your favourite quotes?

signature_2

Leave a Reply

