Discussion | Could YA Have A Negative Influence?

Recently. I’ve noticed that the best friend has started saying this particular line to me quite often:

“It’s not like that. You read too many books. Gosh”

This is usually in reply to my random perspectives on life.

Which got me thinking. What if the books I read have started influencing me? I mean what if they’ve warped my perspective about something?

Now of course, considering I read so many books it’s a given that they’d influence me in some way or another. But what  if they’ve started affecting my take on life, like majorly?

Let’s take love for example, literally every fictional novel I have ever read has some kind of romance in it. And I’ve noticed that, particularly in YA, love is this huge philosophical thing, it’s exaggerated really but being a teenager and being easily impressionable, I see it as this huge powerful event that’s gonna knock the wind out of me and the universe will collapse unto itself or something.

So has my reading resulted in me forming unrealistic expectations of love? Have I formed an idea that true love looks like Augustus and Hazel or Anna and Etienne?

That’s the other thing about YA, it sets this unrealistic bar for what boys should be like. I mean, let’s be honest, we’re all looking for an Augutus Waters or Chaol Westfall to stride in and sweep us off our feet.

I’m not trying to single out YA as the culprit of unrealistic expectations,  I mean everything from TV to Disney Movies to Instagram has us forming unrealistic expectations about everything, not just love.

I guess at the end of the day, we have to remember that, that particular representation of love in the novel is the author’s idea and experience.

And the best way is to just not be so gullible,get out there and discover your own idea of love or anything really through experience.

Apologies if this post was a bit vague or sounded too much like an “inner ramblings of a teenager” rather than a bookish discussion. But yeah it’s been plaguing me

Do you think books set unrealistic expectation?

signature_2

 

6 thoughts on “Discussion | Could YA Have A Negative Influence?

  1. Blaise @ thebookboulevard says:

    This reminds me a lot about a perspective in the “violent video games cause violence/aggression” discussion: that the thing itself doesn’t change perspective or opinion, but how you choose to integrate it into your life does. A friend of mine says that violent video games are only problematic when the player is unable to distinguish between them and reality–and I think something similar might occur with YA. Maybe it’s a matter of figuring out which expectations are unrealistic or not, compared to reality.

    After all, I think there are some loves out there like those in books. Maybe not exactly the same, but similar.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ella Drayton (@EllaDrayton) says:

    As a parent, I’ve had this conversation plenty of times before. I have a 12 year old step-daughter who loves to read. She started getting into dystopian YA novels and shortly after reading several of these books, her attitude towards all of her parentals changed. She was disrespectful and sometimes quite hateful. Now, I’m not placing ALL of the blame on books, I leave some of that for her biological parents BUT because of the way these books portray parents or lack of parents and give the kids in the book so much freedom, I think she started really getting confused as to whether parents are the bad guys or not. Anything can be a bad influence if the person is not able to differentiate between what is reality and what is not. I think it all depends on the person.

    And as far as the expectation of love like in the books, it’s possible to have outrageous, crazy, amazing love like in some of those books. But love comes in a lot of different ways. It can sneak up and surprise you. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bookmatcher says:

    I think some of this has to do with being a dreamer, rather than being completely grounded in ‘reality.’ Some people are more realistic with their expectations, while others will dream for things that are more than just average, ‘realistic’ things – sometimes these things are impossible things, but other times they’re just not so easily found or achieved. Maybe reading or watching certain movies, etc. can enhance that, in the way that you see this stuff and it gives you ideas. You see this love story, and you want that. (Or whatever else it might be.)

    I don’t think either is necessarily wrong, just different ways of looking at life – and we need both kinds of people. Dreamers can be uplifting to non-dreamers, and at the same time non-dreamers can pull the dreamers back to reality when they’re not seeing things for what they are, if that makes sense 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

