Film Review | Insurgent

Title: Insurgent 

Director: Robert Schwentke

Stars: Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, Theo James

Synopsis: 

Beatrice Prior must confront her inner demons and continue her fight against a powerful alliance which threatens to tear her society apart with the help from others on her side.

 

Finally 500 years after the movie came out I watched it and here’s what I thought

Keep in mind that I haven’t read the book since last year so this is really just what I thought of the movie on its own and not particularly as an adaptation.

Insurgent was, as expected, highly action packed and one word to just sum this whole movie up would be “badass”. Tris was badass, her boyfriend was badass, there was adrenaline in literally every scene and I loved it.

The whole idea of the box and the message from the founders simplified things and didn’t over complicate the plot. The whole depiction of the Factionless, Candor and Amity was on point, no complains there.

The movie did a really great job in projecting Tris’ internal struggle. I mean she just lost her parents, killed her best friends and we could see that trauma, we could see her struggle in trying to forgive herself. And when she does in the end, it’s so satisfying. But in doing that, the movie seemed to focus almost too much on Tris,  I mean we didn’t see as much of her relationship with Four or Christina which is obviously crucial.

As far as the book goes, I believe the movie covered all major events. The special effects were impressive but the ending was a bit too happily every after. I was beginning to wonder if there would actually be a third movie and the last cut rolls around and I can see that yes, there will be room for a third movie, hopefully they call it Allegiant, hopefully it’s not as bad as the book.

I really really liked Insurgent and I’m sure you will too, once you’ve watched Divergent of course, which I reviewed here. I might even like Insurgent better than the first one actually.

Rating

5

 

signature_2

Leave a Reply

