Book Review | Half Wild

Title: Half Wild (Half Bad #2)
Author: Sally Green
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Page Count: 400

Synẃopsis  

“You will have a powerful Gift, but it’s how you use it that will show you to be good or bad.”

In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he’s on the run–but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father.

goodreads

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

 

After the classic read of Little Women we’ve dived into the action packed, fantasy filled amazingness that is YA.

Fantasy and action equals to a recipe for success, I am such an adrenaline junkie when it comes to YA Fantasy and this definitely satisfied that need.

Plot

Fast paced and eventful the story smoothly transitions from one place to another without any glitches, Sally Green is good at establishing that hey “before we were in France, now we’re in Norway”, the simplicity is what makes this book likable. You have these books that  have actions and escapes and it’s all a mess but this book was well put together that way.

As for surprises, there was nothing majorly shocking as to the actions and decisions of the characters UNTIL the very end. Oh my Jesus toast, I sat there with my mouth gaping open for a good ten minutes and the end ahh so many possibilities. But it’s okay I can definitely wait one year for the sequel

Seriously doesn’t reading just teach you so much patience from waiting on all the books?

Characters

Nathan is one of the most raw characters I have ever come across. He has his flaws, he admits to them, the other characters point it out, he is by no means perfect and he isn’t likable either. Which is interesting because I sympathize with him, I understand his side of the story and it frustrates me when people make assumptions without giving him a chance. C’est la vie I guess

I highly enjoyed seeing the process of Nathan discovering his gift then coming to terms with it. I honestly love the bits when he is wild, hope to see more of that in book three.

Obviously a major part of the book was Nathan’s relationship with his dad. It’s good that they finally came to an understanding although it did seem a teeny bit rushed however, I still felt all the feels (book readers would know what I’m referring to)

My favourite bit was obviously Nathan and Gabriel! This tweet perfectly sums up my reactions to this beautiful pairing.

tweet

 

And then Sally Green saw it and she favourited it and it was the best day of my life. Oh and follow me on twitter @Aasma03 for more of this craziness.

Writing

Sally Green’s writing is so real, down-to-Earth, it’s like you’re present in the room with all the characters, kind of writing. I love it.

I guess the concept of the whole Black Witches Vs White Witches and this war that is brewing is so parallel to our own history, I’m thinking all the stuff with racism and genocide and keeping races pure. I know boring history lesson from Infinity Reads but I just thought it was interesting.

Now I’m just curious as to what Nathan does next.

Half Wild was raw, fast and all in all one heck of a read

Rating

4

 

signature_2

6 thoughts on “Book Review | Half Wild

Leave a Reply

