Book Review | We All Looked Up+ My Apocalyptic Bucket List+Giveaway

Tour Banner

Title: We All Looked Up

Author: Tommy Wallach

Genre: Contemporary, Apocalyptic

Page Count: 394

Big thanks to Simon & Schuster Australia!

Add to Goodreads 

Synopsis:

Four high school seniors put their hopes, hearts, and humanity on the line as an asteroid hurtles toward Earth in this contemporary novel.They always say that high school is the best time of your life.Peter, the star basketball player at his school, is worried “they” might actually be right. Meanwhile Eliza can’t wait to escape Seattle—and her reputation—and perfect-on-paper Anita wonders if admission to Princeton is worth the price of abandoning her real dreams. Andy, for his part, doesn’t understand all the fuss about college and career—the future can wait.

Or can it? Because it turns out the future is hurtling through space with the potential to wipe out life on Earth. As these four seniors—along with the rest of the planet—wait to see what damage an asteroid will cause, they must abandon all thoughts of the future and decide how they’re going to spend what remains of the present.

 

 

 

AboutTheAuthor

Tommy Wallach is a Brooklyn-based writer and musician. His first novel, We All Looked Up, will be published by Tommy Wallach Author PhotoSimon and Schuster in April 2015. His work has appeared in many nice magazines, such as McSweeney’s, Tin House, and Wired. He has released an EP with Decca Records, and will be independently putting out an LP in Spring 2014. He also makes music videos, including one that was exhibited at the Guggenheim Museum. You should buy him dinner.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads 

 

 

MyReview

Drop everything now and go read this book. Seriously. I’m going to control my excitement and keep this review short and sweet because my end of the world bucket list is about to happen.

Firstly, the writing. Oh my. It was so philosophical and that’s what got me so engaged in the book initially. There was also the whole mystery about the asteroid and whether it would crash or not which just had me turning the pages. I was very impressed by how much  We All Looked Up reminded me of The Fifth Wave which is another amazing Post-Apocalyptic novel. If you enjoyed The Fifth Wave you’re going to want to read this.

This book had such an honest representation of what would happen if the world was actually about to end. No everyone would not be unicorns and rainbows. It would be chaos and anarchy. Nothing was toned down and the book stayed real till the end.

Four POVs, all in third person but somehow it all made sense,  it wasn’t confusing or messy it was harmonic. I mean genius or genius? I liked how basically every character in the book was somehow intertwined with another. The character development from Anita taking hold of her life to Andy becoming mature to Peter realizing the things that actually mattered. It was brilliant

Overall, We All Looked Up isn’t so much about an asteroid crashing into Earth as it is about what people do with the time they have left where there is no time left. the relationships they make and the risks they end up taking and that I believe was the true driving force of the book.

Rating

5

 

BucketList

Hypothetically if the world were ending and we were all about to die the following are the things I would do:

1. Steal all the candy

Okay I wasn’t the only kid that imagined strolling into a candy shop and looting the place down was I?

2. Gather all my loved ones in a house and tell each one how much I love them (look at me getting all cheesy!)

3. Hopefully by the time the world is ending I would’ve traveled a fair bit so I’d love to re visit my favourite places and appreciate them for one last time

4. Stock up on my favourite foods

Um i can’t spend my last days on Earth without pizza or pickled jalapenos or chippy chips can I?

5. Sleep under the stars (cuz you’re only gonna get so many starry nights)

6. Meet George.R.R.Martin and suffocate the ending of Game of Thrones out of him (desperate times call for desperate measures)

7. Bury all my books (because the last thing I’d want is someone to burn them or even worse they deteriorate alone on my shelf!)

8. Ride around town in a shopping cart . Let’s be real that won’t turn out well..

But it’s the end of the world!

Giveaway
Click here a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Follow the blog hop!

1st April

2nd April

3rd April

5th April

6th April

7th April

8th April

9th April

10th April

signature_2

2 thoughts on “Book Review | We All Looked Up+ My Apocalyptic Bucket List+Giveaway

Leave a Reply

