Top 5 Wednesday | Futuristic Books

o-INFINITY-facebook

Yay Future

Well I don’t read many Sci-Fi books so I’ll just discuss the 50 000 Dystopian books I’ve read over the past three years.

5. The Host by Stephanie Meyer 

I read this WAYY back in the day so the details might be a little fuzzy.  But I found the whole psychological aspect of it really cool and it has some weird romance lemme tell you that.

What’s so futuristic about it? 

So basically Earth is invaded by this alien species who take over human minds (fun!)

Would I want to live in this world?

Of course not. I’m not judging if you want your mind to be tapped into but I’m not good with sharing space so.

4. 1984 by George Orwell 

This was my first book review on this blog! it’s crap but meh. 1984 looks at some very interesting concepts and it’s so chilling to realize the accurateness with which George Orwell was able to predict our lives now.

What’s so futuristic about it?

Except from the fact that the whole book screams FUTURE. But yeah this creepy dude called Big Brother invades everyone’s private space and takes over your life.

Would I want to live in this world?

This is looking pretty bad for Futuristic books but Ill pass on this one as well. Seems pretty oppressive if you ask me.

3. Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu 

I always feel like this series is so under hyped. How do you like the sound of a prodigal protagonist who is also a badass, a murder mystery and some of the most painful romances? READ IT

What’s so futuristic about it? 

It’s basically Dystopian America in ruins and omg the third book features Antarctica whose setting was done so masterfully!

Would i want to live in this want?

Yes since it doesn’t seem too different from the world right now except this deadly plague is spreading but I’d like to be a rich person in this society so I can avoid the plague and go live in Antarctica.

2. The Fifth Wave 

This books gives a pretty accurate representation of what would actually happen if there were to be an alien invasion on Earth. It is thrilling, intense and gory just the way I like it!

What’s so futuristic about it?

It’s set in Post-invasion America and there’s all this advanced technology

Would I want to live in this world?

Heck no! this is the worst one of the lot. Let’s be real I’d probably be dead just by thinking about this world.

1. The Lunar Chronicles 

I’m reading the novella Fairest right now which has left me on a Lunar Chronicles high that’s why this is number one! But seriously fairy tales but futuristic! the world building is amazing honestly.

What’s so futuristic about it?

Robots and hovercrafts and actual travel to the moon and an actual colony on the moon and ahh everything everything is futuristic.

Would I want to live in this world?

You know it doesn’t seem like such a bad world after all, I mean jobs would involve fixing your Android (robot) or delivering vegetables through hovercrafts and yeah ‘satisfied nod’

I hope you enjoyed looking at some of my favourite futuristic books. Let me know yours in the comments!

signature_2

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Futuristic Books

  1. Adam says:

    You know…if you could really shut off your brain like is expected within the world of 1984…it might not be so bad. Life becomes somewhat robotic and routine and the idea of desire is all but eradicated. And we all know that the key to happiness is the removal of desire…
    🙂
    Honestly, I sometimes think that some pieces of these dystopian environments might not be as terrible as they really are, like in The Giver where you’re just given a job to work for the rest of your life. Sure, it might be a job you hate, but in that world, there’s no concept of greener grass, just doing what you’re told.

    Liked by 1 person

    • infinityreads says:

      That;s quite a though provoking idea. I mean I guess as a reader I perceive these people as “settling for less” but that’s only because I know a better world but for those people in the books it might not be so bad after all. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      • Adam says:

        I used to often find myself getting angry at the non-protag characters in these books because of how okay they were with the status quo…then I realized exactly that…you’re good with what you know, even if you think there might be something better out there.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

