Top 10 of 2014 | Best villains of 2014

Top Ten of 2014: A Week of Looking Back is a year-end meme hosted by Jamie @ Two Chicks On Books, Rachel @ Fiktshun, Mindy @ Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and Nancy @ Tales of a Ravenous Reader.

There was a list of topics we could choose from for today’s topic so I chose to discuss my top villains of 2014. I comprised the list from people who I can sort of empathize with or people who managed to really get under my skin. Enjoy!

Cersei Lannister (A Song of Ice and Fire) 

Now I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again I love Cersei. She is a kickass female character in her own right and given her circumstance I can understand her. Westeros is a pretty sexist society so she needs to be a bitch to get her way and she shows those men who’s boss although sometimes she is cruel.

Gaea (Heroes of Olympus)

Gaea is the Earth Goddess in Greek Mythology and I was baffled to discover in Heroes of Oympus that she is evil. Earth is evil. She tempts the Heroes to destruct them, doesn’t give a damn about her own children and is a power hungry you know what. In saying that she did manage to build an impressive albeit gross army and in the end it didn’t take much to kill her. Honestly she proved way less powerful than I thought.

Vosch (The Fifth Wave)

The person who is going to be playing Vosch in The Fifth Wave is gonna be SO GOOD. I love how manipulative he is and his brain washing abilities are down right creepy. I especially enjoyed how his dialogue during The Infinite Sea set me thinking and I like people who make me think.

Ambrose (The Kingkiller Chronicles) 

Ambrose is basically the Draco Malfoy of The Kingkiller Chronicles. He always bullies our protagonist and gets in the way and is dumb and annoying. But he stepped his game up in the sequel which I’m currently reading, oh boy. I didn’t think he would stoop to physical torture but yep he did. I like Ambrose because he always gets his ass kicked by our good guy and it’s kind of ironic that his name is Ambrose because Ambrosia is meant to be healing but he’s just a nuisance.

Amy Dunne (Gone Girl) 

The world has never seen a more psycho bitch than this. Amy’s view on the world is so twisted and it was highly intriguing reading her POV and discovering how she perceived certain characters throughout the book. Her level of revenge and psychotic manipulation is downright creepy but me like.

Yagami Light (Death Note) 

I managed to read about 10 volumes of Death Note in one sitting. Yep that good. It was interesting to see the twisted morale behind every death that Light concurred. I mean he’s become so consumed by the power of being able to kill anyone and he thinks he’s God and he uses people. He still manages to appear as a good old school boy and that is the scariest thing.

Sebastien Morgenstern (Mortal Instruments) 

I have always been so irritated by Sebastien and his uhm intimacy towards his sister. Yuk. But the way he died in City of Heavenly Fire was so saddening and he paid homage to all the bad he had done and oh.

Assef (The Kite Runner) 

Sexually Harasses little boys. Check. Inflicts Violence for pure pleasure. Check. Is a fanatic of Adolf Hitler and his morals. Check. A truly screwed up villain Assef managed to get well and truly under my skin. In fact even thinking about him makes me flare up.

The Alchemists (Bloodlines) 

Okay honestly these people are so hypocritical and uptight and prejudiced ahhh. Like if one of their own rapes someone that’s okay but if a beautiful Vampire like Adrian Ivashkov wants to marry an Alchemist Sydney it is the biggest sin committed in history. Like dear God get your principles checked. And they won’t leave Sydney alone but they are pretty methodical and cunning so I have to give them that

The following might contain spoilers about Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Martin Vanger (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) 

A villain who sent chills down my back with his corrupt and twisted mind. The thing was he did everything so calculatedly and secretly that he wasn’t exposed till the end. In the daylight he wore this nice businessman mask but that was just a mask for the evil sadist that he actually was. Martin Vanger is the world’s worst brother and I won’t tell why. But hey he died a hideous deserved death so yay.

I enjoyed making this post because I got to bitch about all those people aha. But honestly those people are good at their job of being villains which is why they made the list! I cannot wait to see what topics other people chose

Who’s your best villain?

signature_2

12 thoughts on “Top 10 of 2014 | Best villains of 2014

  1. Jackie says:

    Cersei is a total bitch but after season 4 I liked her more because she just didn’t care about her incest relationship with her brother Jaimie anymore and kinda let chips fall where they may. I am also glad she didn’t marry that gay dude lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

