Baking kills self esteem

I had a pretty uneventful day planned ahead so for productivity’s sake I decided to try my hand at baking Tiramisu cupcakes

If you’ve been living under a rock, Tiramisu is basically Italian coffee cake and I got inspired by The Hummingbird bakery cookbook’s recipe to make it in cupcake form.

What seemed to be a basic effort turned out to be a literally runny disaster. I had my ingredients laid out, I made the basic Vanilla cupcakes, going good and then I flippin’ stuffed up the icing.

It was one of those moments where you have to use your head not the recipe. It’s summer, sweltering hot, why did I decided it would be a good idea to make cupcakes. Of course things were melting and runnier than usual. So the frosting was more like cake batter or worse actually. But my mother and I salvaged it by sieving the water from it  (I know that sounds disgusting) but it turned out…edible.

This led to me deciding not to step in the kitchen for let’s say a reasonably long time. Confidence was running low by this point which usually leads to other worries such as the body and I figured hey, your weight doesn’t define you so I ate an ice cream.

Then I sat down to watch the news with my dad where literally every channel here in Australia is covering the Sydney siege (if you’re not Australian, just Google it). My thoughts go out to the hostages but I wanna say one thing. I’m really distressed by all the assumptions being made on Facebook and Twitter and even news channels, I mean no one knows the truth except for those being held hostage so how can you already form prejudices against certain religions or people? Again, use your head.

Quiet a rambly post with no one agenda ay? but you know what I already feel better having gotten it out.

So the moral of the post is: Use your brain not the recipe.

~infinityreads

2 thoughts on “Baking kills self esteem

Leave a Reply

