Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Author: Maggie Stiefvater2b58e-bluelily

Genre: Fantasy

Series: The Raven Cycle #3

Pages: 391

Synopsis:

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

Finally a book review!

I’ve been meaning to read this book since it came out earlier because I love love loved the previous two books in The Raven Cycle series!

Unfortunately this book turned out to be nothing like the others.

To begin with the plot felt slow and like it was dragging on forever. You have to understand that the previous books are fast paced and action packed therefore this paled in comparison. This is supposedly going to be a quartet but in my opinion it should be a trilogy because then it would be much better paced.

In saying that there was the ever present character growth. The forbidden romance between our protagonists Gansey and Blue was so powerful. The thing is if Blue kisses her true love he will die so she can’t kiss Gansey and it is SO AGONISING. Like they would hold hands and my feels will go cray.

There are also Adam and Ronan, Gansey’s friends. I loved how Adam came to terms with himself because his self doubt was really starting to irritate me. But by the end of the book he was confident and had this powerful presence. Also, for people who’ve read the book, does anyone else want Ronan and Adam to happen like really badly, like right NOW. Cuz I do.

The book was surrounded around the concept of mirrors and I found this confusing because the author only briefly explained it and even then I didn’t know how that related to the greater plot. Also, I felt very detached while reading, I remember in the prequel The Dream Thieves I was so invested in the characters but in this one when someone died (no spoiler) I didn’t feel anything.

Honestly, Blue Lily, Lily Blue was all over the place and I just have so many questions that will hopefully be answered in the final installment. Overall, it just didn’t have that umph factor that I usually get reading about The Raven Boys.

Rating

3

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Leave a Reply

