Book review: The Name of the Wind

Author: Patrick Rothfus 

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 662

Synopsis

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.

My mind cannot conjure up words powerful enough to tell you how well written and fantastic this book is. Kvothe, our main character is telling us his story leading up to his ultimate destruction.

Paired with fantastical elements, science and poetic life lessons The Name of the Wind is one of the most versatile and realistic fantasy books I’ve read so far.

Characters

Kvothe is this witty, intelligent and strong young man whose optimism to become something in life never fails to impress me. How he came out of poverty,  was so advanced in his studies at the university and is still at this point in the story trying to come to terms with his magical side makes this book a coming of age in its own sense.

His musical talent with the lute was rather admirable and Rothfus really does make you feel the music at certain points.

The tragedy that occurred during his childhood, the bullying he experiences at school and the romantic aspects of his life all make Kvothe a highly relate able and surprisingly humorous character. I feel very familiar with the teenage Kvothe that we see most of in the book but the present Kvothe who is telling the story seems rather mysterious to me (I hope that made sense).

Denna, Kvothe’s supposed love interest is giving me bad vibes and I feel like she will be responsible somehow for Kvothe’s ultimate destruction but she wasn’t that present in the book I feel, she just came and went so it’s hard to form an opinion.

There are a few other side characters but they just aren’t as present. Since Kvothe is telling his story it makes sense that he’d make himself stand out and have other people in the background.

Plot

Packed with adventure and magic Rothfus has successfully created a very engaging plot. We travel across the world from a circus into poverty and then into an academic university which unmistakably gave me Harry Potter feels. This book has stories within this massive story that Kvothe is telling but surprisingly it never gets confusing.

Sure, there are some barbaric things that I’m still unsure of but i feel like I’m meant to not understand those yet as this is a triology and I’m hoping in time everything makes sense.

One complaint though. The whole time I was reading I was hoping that by the end of this book I would know how Kvothe came about his ultimate destruction but that was over assumption on my part since I have to read the second book to know the final answer. Bit misleading I guess but then again maybe I was assuming too much.

Writing 

Something I found extremely clever was that the prologue and epilogue of the book are exactly the same. It’s so amazing how one page can signal a beginning but when used in a different location it can also signal a conclusion. Don’t you think that’s cool? just me then.

As a fantasy novel , yes the writing is different but good different. It’s poetic but easily adaptable so don’t you worry. Six hundreds pages might seem lengthy but trust me it does not get boring at any point since the author is very clever in placing these events throughout the book that will have readers engaged.

The Name of the Wind was a highly enjoyable fantasy read. If you’re looking into getting into fantasy this would definitely be it. Go read it then we can talk about it! I cannot wait to finish this post and order the second book. I need it!

Rating

4

 

~Infinityreads

9 thoughts on “Book review: The Name of the Wind

  1. Mathew says:

    Wonderful website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this
    article? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get
    responses from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Many thanks!

    Like

    • infinityreads says:

      Thanks so much!

      If you were looking into being involved in a book community I’d definitely recommend getting a Goodreads account. It’s a great way to discover new books and discuss your opinion 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

