Blood of Olympus- SPOILERS discussion

This post will obviously contain spoilers concerning the Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan so read ahead at your own risk.

More than any other books in the series Blood of Olympus was more about character development than fighting which was awesome!

Instead of getting Percy and Annabeth all the time we see more of the other characters, I think this was so great because my judgement about some of them turned out to be completely wrong. A fresh perspective is always welcome in my eyes.

Nico

We go deeper than the underworld with Nico and them feels! his rage, his dark side, his struggle with his dad and finally him coming to terms with his sexuality, feeling secure and belonged at Camp Half Blood for once in his life created this affection for Nico i didn’t think was possible.

His relationship with Reyna was so unexpected but so good. I like that they lend strength to each other and don’t mind confiding. Their bond is what kept both going, to get that Athena Parthenos to Camp and like hell they did

Reyna

Superwoman right here. In the previous books Reyna was just this annoying girl trying to steal Jason but boy was I wrong. She is an absolute powerhouse. I mean she’s so realistic and strong but she has her struggles like any other person. I highly respect strong female protagonist and Reyna’s going right on the list of my favorites.

As previously mentioned, Nico getting he to open up about her dad was just so powerful and added that extra badass to Reyna’s character. The scene with the hunter dude and the explosives and then Athena saves the day, that was so COOL and when Reyna just strides into the midst of the Greeks and Romans like she owns the house oh yeah!

Piper

You know how I said i judged some characters? well, Piper was one of them and I thought she was just some useless Love child. The amount that Piper developed in BoO was phenomenal. I mean I underestimated her strength.

In Rome when she just jumps in the middle of all these monsters to save Percy and Annabeth? crazy. Good crazy.

And then when she’s on the quest to get the Physician’s Cure and all the stuff about her trusting her instincts and going with her emotions. Mind.freaking.blown. Respect Piper respect

The ending

This is by far one of the best conclusions to a series, I am so overly satisfied with the ending, every question was answered, the prophecy was fulfilled and no one died (that was especially my favorite bit).

The Seven and their parents fighting together to defeat the giants was so badass and it made me cry because this was all ending, it is rather bittersweet.

Leo. Oh Leo, Let’s be honest, he was THE Hero in this. I mean talk about smart. Defeating Gaia, getting unexpectedly blown but coming back to life and finding an impossible island to get Calypso? woah there. It was so sneaky that we didn’t find out about this till the very end. The whole time I was like he can’t be dead right? what if though? no,stay optimistic. 

And when Leo and Calypso fly away on Festus, I thought, i can’t wait to read the next chapter when all the Demigods find out Leo is alive. But the next page was the Glossary. I thought a new adventure was beginning!

But yeah, it’s an open ending. I mean did Leo go back to Camp or did him and Calypso elope?

What if 10  years later at the Demigods reunion he just randomly turned up?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Blood of Olympus- SPOILERS discussion

  1. Kill says:

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the superb works guys I’ve included
    you guys to my blogroll.

    Like

Leave a Reply

