Fate

Recently I watched a movie called 500 days of Summer. I’m sure you’ve heard of it or maybe you haven’t, it’s decent. But this movie got me thinking a lot about fate.

In particular the following quote caught my attention:

Narrator: If Tom had learned anything… it was that you can’t ascribe great cosmic significance to a simple earthly event. Coincidence, that’s all anything ever is, nothing more than coincidence… Tom had finally learned, there are no miracles. There’s no such thing as fate, nothing is meant to be. He knew, he was sure of it now.

Now my understanding of this quote is that, it’s telling me fate doesn’t exist that there is no reason, no connections in life. That nothing is predetermined I don’t know how to express it. It”s telling me everything just happens. Just cuz.

I could be completely wrong but hey that’s my interpretation. Back to the movie, I watched it with my friend on a stormy evening and she thought this was an exceptional quote so much so that she pinned it up on her wall. But me being me was already digging and thinking way too deeply into it and it just felt dark, negative.

I’m the kind of person that believes everything has a purpose. It’s your destiny to meet that person or get that job or read this blog post.

Which brings me to the contradicting topic of coincidence. The dictionary definition is as follows. (bless Google)

Coincidence- A remarkable concurrence of events or circumstances without apparent causal connection.
Previously, I mentioned the quote from 500 days of Summer gives me the feeling that there are no existing connections between humans inhabiting this planet. Now, this completely threw me off because I’m a strong believer in connections especially after I watched this TV show, can’t remember the name but yeah it was quite inspirational.
Connections is what fate is about and this universe it binds us all in one way or another. Are you really telling me it was just a coincidence that you’re reading this post right now? I mean you could have decided to take a stroll in the park instead and this would just be archived in the overflowing library of internet data. Think about it.
This post was created upon pure impulse and I’m sorry if I can’t express my thoughts very clearly. Expressing emotions is crazy difficult and I want to get better at it and practice makes perfect right?
On another note. I’m sorry if you thought this post was pointless and if you’d like to add anything on this topic feel free to do so in the comments or on your blog.
~Infinityreads

Leave a Reply

