Movie review: The Maze Runner

Director: Wes Ball

Starring: Dylan O’Brien, Will Poulter, Thomas Brodie-Sangster

Genre: Action

You know that time in your life when the film is better than the movie? this was one of those times

I have nothing but praise for The Maze Runner

The intensity of the plot added excitement and thrill. There was never a dull moment since I was literally on the edge of my seat throughout the film because of the sheer unpredictability. All the action and adrenaline and the surprise elements just created this film to be this wonderful wonderful….film.

The Maze was represented so beautifully. I particularly love the panning shot towards the end where you’re able to see the enormity of the thing. Also, it was so much more clearer than the book since I had a hard time visualizing while reading but films definitely help when it comes to visualizing I guess.

Another thing I enjoyed about The Maze Runner was the music. I believe the music in a film can make or break it and the music in this film definitely made it better. It portrayed the action and emotion so creatively.

A major step up from the book was the explanation of the purpose of The Maze. In the book it was so complicated and frustrating. The film simplified all this so there was no complexity and it was easy to follow which is exactly what I wanted and ah I am just so satisfied. Everything makes so much sense now!

Now that the boring stuff is done with let’s talk about the actors. Dylan O’Brien “swoons” and Thomas Brodie-Sangster “double swoon”. But in all seriousness I absolutely adored and respected the portrayal of the characters done by these actors, everyone’s personalities were captured so precisely.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I especially loved Chuck (Blake Cooper) I mean how can you not? He added humor during those too serious moments in the film and made the situation lighter.

The thing is that The Maze Runner will appeal to both genders and it does not come off as too teenagery and NO it is not “the next Hunger Games”, can people please stop comparing everything with the Hunger Games already? So yeah if you don’t get the message already, The Maze Runner is amazing and YOU seriously need to watch it now!

Rating:

5

 

NOTE: I had to retype the whole post because my draft didn’t save gah technology. So please appreciate my effort and Like this post Thank You.

~InfinityReads

2 thoughts on “Movie review: The Maze Runner

Leave a Reply

