Review: The Maze Runner

Author: James DashnerThe_Maze_Runner_cover

Genre: Young Adult- Dystopian

Pages: 374

Summary

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying

 

This is going to be one weird review. I am very indecisive of this book. I mean it was good sometimes but other times it was just so irritating.

Plot

Starting out on a positive note. I absolutely love this world that James Dashner has created. It is creepy and psychological. The idea of the maze and runners going out everyday to solve the maze was extremely well done, especially the solution to the maze was SO CLEVER.

There was  high amounts of action and adrenaline and many interesting conversations which kept me involved in the book (believe me there were many things that DIDN’T get me involved). Anyway, it was paced well also, there was one big event after another and never a dull moment. So many things were new and peculiar in this world that I was always curious to find answers.

SO that is the only good thing I have to say about this book

Characters

I love reading from male perspectives because being a girl it’s interesting to be in the opposite gender’s head.

The protagonist Thomas is a likable guy you know he’s brave, loyal and smart but for some odd reason I just could not connect with him. That’s the thing about The Maze Runner, the characters are so one dimensional like the only purpose they serve is to introduce readers to this great world of the maze. Thomas would have a trail of thought and I could feel that I was being expected to empathize but I just could not.

Thomas has a friend in the book-Newt-and he is my favorite character, he seems so chilled but again there was something holding me back. During the book there was a mention of a terrible thing happening to Newt and I believe if that point were elaborated and a personal experience was revealed  it would’ve created depth and readers could easily connect to the characters.

Writing    

My biggest problem with the book was the way it was written. Great story, average characters, crappy writing. I mean writing is the prime thing authors should be good at! having a good plot line is just not enough. Not for me anyway. I can’t explain exactly why I dislike it, it’s just the sentence structure is off and it’s so flat ugh.

Along with that there is this new slang vocabulary RIGHT AT THE BEGINNING OF THE BOOK. It threw me off seriously, I mean I’m already confused about why this boy called Thomas is in a frekin’ metal box then you decide to write a whole page full of words I don’t even understand? It was frustrating and unnecessary.

The Maze Runner was supposed to blow me away but unfortunately you can’t have everything. I am still confused about the purpose of the maze and this world and hope to have some answers in the sequel.

Rating

3

~Infinityreads

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Maze Runner

Leave a Reply

