Me and Earl and the Dying girl- Book review

Author: Jesse Andrews
Genre: Young adult, humour, contemporary
Pages: 295
Published: March 1st 2012

 
Definitely one of the strangest books I have read so far.
I mean that in a good way. It took me 2 and a half days to whiz through this thing because It was just so amazing and I’m about to tell you why.

 
Summary:
Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.
Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

 
I have been eyeing this book at my local bookstore for the longest time and finally when my friend gave this to me as a present (thank you!) I couldn’t resist but read it immediately.

 
Side note: Let’s take a moment to appreciate the cover, it truly is a creative genius.

 
Get this, Me and Earl and the Dying girl was hands down the most realistic and honest book I’ve read this year. Nothing was sugar coated like “oh this is a teenage book so we have to be careful”, no there was cussing and there was fart jokes and I loved that about this book.

 
The author was really frank like at the start of the book he tells you that this isn’t some deep book about dying and falling in love and that people should just pick up a different book if they were expecting those things. I like that, I like fair warning and honesty.
Our main character Greg is this hateful, clumsy guy and he is hilarious. I loved how Greg was flawed and he wasn’t your typical YA hottie who gets the girls with his shyness, instead Greg is this typical teenage moron who doesn’t know what he is doing with his life. His voice is SO strong, I honestly felt like I was in his head, literally seeing things from his perspective. This is one of my favourite aspects of the book: Greg’s characterization and his humorous dialogues.

 
Greg has this friend or should I say “co-worker” (as Greg likes to describe him), his name is Earl. Earl is just this err unique kid. Some of the things he says leave the reader like wtf and that just makes it that much more hilarious. Greg and Earl like to make movies together and they are whacked up movies, I love how this book is just so out there with the crazy ideas.

 
The “dying girl” is Rachel. I honestly feel like she wasn’t present as much in the book but I did like her overall, especially her snorting at Greg’s jokes (just writing that makes me giggle, gives you an idea of how funny the book is huh?)

 
The format of the book also makes it an appealing read because most of it is in script format (see picture below). This format avoided the whole “he said”, “she said” which can be a waste of words honestly. It also made it a quick read. Also, there were lists in the book and I like lists.

photo
Me and Earl and the Dying girl by Jesse Andrews was an honest, humorous and light read. It escaped my mind throughout the book that this was a work of fiction because it was just so down to earth. I enjoyed this book very much and highly recommend it.

Rating

5

 

Leave a Reply

