Book review- The One

Author: Kierra Cass
Pages: 217
Genre: Young adult, dystopian, romance
Advice: If you haven’t read The Selection series this review will not make sense so go read them. Now. Cuz they’re awesome.
Summary:
The Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen–and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.
Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!
Let me just start by saying that this was by far my favourite book in the series. The prequel got on my nerves so much! The writing was engaging and involving and I was feeling all the feels. I was able to ride the emotional roller coaster and holy moly it was good.
I loved how everything resolved itself and the characters finally started acting mature rather than being bratty. The flaws in American and Maxon’s relationship made both of them grow and the story just developed beautifully hence. Although it still got on my nerves how America couldn’t decide between Apen and Maxon till the last word of the last page like gurl make up your mind! To be honest she seemed like a player (yes I said it)
The deaths oh my god. I had to take a moment to absorb everything and I feel like America’s grief wasn’t displayed particularly well but I could understand she was trying to be strong for everyone else. The rebels were a nice addition; it was good to see life beyond the castle.
Overall, it was a nice conclusion to the series and I’m happy with the way it ended although it was kind of predictable.

Rating:

4

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book review- The One

Leave a Reply

